Elements of Legal Interpreting

Verba Volant LSP in collaboration with The University of Arizona’s National Center for Interpretation presents the 12-hour program Elements of Legal Interpreting.

The training will focus on fundamental elements of legal interpreting, including both technique and content matter.

All lectures will be delivered in Spanish using English or bilingual presentation materials. The goal of combining languages in this way is to support the bilingual development of the participants, particularly with respect to key concepts in interpreting. The examples/exercises included in the training will be in Spanish, English, or both as appropriate.

NCI is a pre-approved provider of CEUs in Florida, Colorado, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee.

AUDIENCE

Professional Translators and Interpreters. Students graduating from a school of translation and/or interpretations. Non experience bilingual professionals interested on learning more about legal interpreting.

Limited spaces available

FORMAT

Live sessions on a private platform. You will receive a password to access every live session and recordings. Sessions will be recorded and available until March 1st.

LANGUAGE

All lectures will be delivered in Spanish using English or bilingual presentation materials

DURATION

12 hours in 6 sessions of 2 hours each.

Live sessions will be held on January 14, 15, 21, 22, 28 y 29.

CERTIFICATE

At the end of the training, the participants will receive a certificate for completing the course issued by U. Arizona’s National Center for Interpretation. The certificate will be issued whether you attend live sessions or watch the recordings.

TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS

  • Proficiency in Spanish and English.
  • PC, Mac, iPad or Smart Phone.
  • A stable internet connection.
  • USB headset with microphone and earphones is recommended.

instructor

Katty Kauffman is a Federally Certified Court Interpreter with the Administrative Office of US Courts, a member of the International Association of Conference Interpreters (AIIC) and of the Chilean Association of Translators and Interpreters, among other professional affiliations.

She graduated from the School of Law in Santiago, Chile, and specializes in legal and court interpretation — including depositions and trial settings — as well as high-level international conferences and summits. 

DESCRIPTION

(Free) Session 0: Intro to Legal Interpreting

In this webinar, we will introduce the goals and techniques of legal interpreting. We will examine the main modes of interpreting used in legal settings—consecutive interpreting, simultaneous interpreting, and sight translation—and try out some “real life” legal interpreting scenarios.

Session 1: Intro to Legal Procedure

In this webinar, we will explore major divisions found in the landscape of the legal system. We will examine the similarities and differences between the civil and common law traditions, the distinctions between criminal and civil law, and other important topics.

Session 2: Court Ethics and Protocol—Theory

In this webinar, we will examine the ethical codes and standards of practice that govern the work of a legal interpreter. These essential principles serve as the foundation of legal interpreting and guide interpreters in meeting their responsibilities.

Session 3: Court Ethics and Protocol—Practice

This webinar will take the ethical principles laid out in the previous webinar and apply them to real world scenarios.

Session 4: Interpreter-Mediated Court Proceedings

In this webinar, we will outline the steps of a trial, from arrest through acquittal or sentencing.

Session 5: Criminal Court Procedure – What Interpreters Need to Know

In this webinar, we will break down criminal procedure in terms of the interpreter’s role at various stages in the process.

Session 6: Let’s Do Some Crime!

In this webinar, we will explore the language of criminal law and different types of crimes. The emphasis will be on improving bilingual vocabulary and conceptual scheme.

date and time in your time zone

Friday – 11:00 a.m
Saturday – 8:00 a.m
EST – Nueva York, Filadelfia, Jacksonville, Columbus.
Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Panamá, Perú.
Friday – 10:00 a.m
Saturday – 7:00 a.m
CST – Chicago, Houston, San Antonio, Dallas.
México, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua.
Friday – 09:00 a.m
Saturday – 6:00 a.m
MST – Denver, El Paso, Alburquerque, Aurora.
Friday – 08:00 a.m
Saturday – 5:00 a.m
PST – Los Ángeles, San Diego, San Francisco.
Friday – 1:00 p.m
Saturday – 10:00 a.m
Chile, Argentina, Brasil, Uruguay, Paraguay,
Friday – 12:00 p.m
Saturday – 9:00 a.m
Bolivia, Puerto Rico, República Dominicana, Venezuela.
Friday – 4:00 p.m
Saturday – 1:00 p.m
Reino Unido
Friday – 5:00 p.m
Saturday – 2:00 p.m
España, Francia, Italia

FEES AND REGISTRATION

From Chile
$68K
  • CLP
Outside Chile
$88
  • USD

Payments accepted using Paypal, credit card, debit card and wire transfers.*

¿QUESTIONS?

If you have any questions, please, do not hesitate to contact us.